DELAC and English Learner Program

  • The District English Learner Advisory Committee (DELAC) is made up of representatives from each school's English Learner Advisory Committee (ELAC).
    A DELAC is required when a school district has an enrollment of 51 or more English learners. Additionally, 51 percent of the DELAC members must be parents. The DELAC shall advise the school district governing board on all of the following tasks:
    Development of a district master plan including policies guiding consistent implementation of EL educational programs and services that takes into consideration the SPSA. (5 CCR) § 11308[c][1])
    Conducting of a district-wide needs assessment on a school-by-school basis. (5 CCR § 11308[c][2])
    Establishment of district program, goals, and objectives for programs and services for ELs. (5 CCR § 11308[c][3])
    Development of a plan to ensure compliance with any applicable teacher and instructional aide requirements. (5 CCR §11308[c][4])
    Review and comment on the local educational agency’s (LEA’s) reclassification procedures.
    (5 CCR § 11308[c][6])
    Review and comment on the written notifications required to be sent to parents and guardians. (5 CCR§ 11308[c][7])
    If the DELAC acts as the EL parent advisory committee under EC §§ 52063(b)(1) and 52062(a)(2), the DELAC shall also review and comment on the development or annual update of the Local Control and Accountability Plan (LCAP). Under the local control funding formula (LCFF), districts with at least 50 ELs and whose total enrollment includes at least 15 percent ELs must establish a DELAC, and that DELAC must carry out specific responsibilities related to the LCAP.
    The District English Learner Advisory Committee (DELAC) Meeting Schedule for the 2019-2020 School Year

    Tierra Bonita Elementary School
    44820 N. 27th St East
    Lancaster, CA 

    Thursdays from 9:00 a.m.-11:00 a.m beginning August 15th, 2019.

    October 24, 2019
    December 12, 2019
    March 12, 2020
    April 16, 2020


  • The ELD Program

    The state of California recognizes that English learners “bring a rich diversity of cultural backgrounds and come from families with rich social and linguistic experiences.” (California Department of Education, California English Learner Roadmap, 2018, p 1) The English Learner Program is an essential part of American education for any student who attends public school and is not yet fluent in the English language. It is designed to enable English learners to fully access  and participate in a standards based education. Upon initial enrollment, every family fills out information about the language(s) present in the student’s home. An assessment, called the Initial English Language Proficiency Assessment for California (Initial ELPAC - see below for more information) is administered to those students who speak a language other than English to determine their level of fluency. Students who are not yet academically fluent in English join the English Language Development Program as English Learners (ELs).

    The English Language Development (ELD) program helps students develop proficiency in English as rapidly and as effectively as possible. English Language Development (ELD) lessons are designed to promote English learners' acquisition of listening, speaking, reading, and writing. English Learners receive additional support in both English and in their core academic classes.

    All of the instructional programs designed for ELs contain the following components:

    • Differentiated ELD instruction, specifically designed for English learners based on the California English Language Development Standards (adopted November 2012 by the California State Board of Education).
    • Differentiated core curriculum instruction using the California ELD Standards alongside the California Common Core State Standards and other content area standards.
    • Structured activities designed to develop academic English, encourage multilingualism, and promote positive self-esteem.


    The ELPAC is the test that is used to measure how well students in kindergarten through grade twelve understand English when it is not their primary language. The ELPAC took the place of the California English Language Development Test (CELDT). Information from the ELPAC
    helps your child’s teacher provide support in the right areas. The ELPAC tests four different areas:

    Testing Areas ELPAC

    The Summative ELPAC is given in the spring annually until a student is reclassified as Fluent English Proficient. The Initial ELPAC is given only once, upon a student’s entry into a California school.

    To learn more, go to ELPAC Resources for Parents on the California Department of Education website.